Collin County Child Abuse Defense Lawyer
Having the best possible legal representation is crucial when facing a child abuse charge in Texas. An experienced and knowledgeable Collin County domestic violence defense lawyer can make all the difference in your case. At Rosenthal Kalabus & Therrian, we understand the seriousness of the allegations. We’ll work tirelessly to secure the best possible outcome for our clients.
With our team of experienced attorneys on your side, you can be confident that your rights will be fully protected. With years of experience defending clients against child abuse charges, our defense lawyers know how to help you through this difficult time. Call us today at (972) 369-0577 or contact us online to set up an initial legal consultation with an experienced Texas child abuse defense lawyer.
Texas Child Abuse Laws
Under §261.001 of Texas’s Family Code, it is illegal to cause physical, mental, or emotional injury to a child. Placing a child in imminent danger of physical or emotional harm is also illegal. These laws are in place to protect children and punish those who commit acts of abuse against them.
What Is Considered Child Abuse or Neglect in Texas?
The Texas Family Code defines child abuse as “mental or emotional injury to a child that results in an observable and material impairment in the child’s growth, development, or psychological functioning” and “physical injury that results in substantial harm to the child.” The following are some of the specific forms of child abuse or neglect recognized under Texas law:
- Physical abuse: Any physical injury inflicted on a child that causes substantial harm.
- Sexual abuse: Any sexual contact with a child. That includes touching, fondling, intercourse, exploitation, or exposure to sexual material.
- Emotional abuse: Any emotional or mental harm to a child that results in observable and substantial damage to the child’s development or psychological functioning.
- Neglect: The failure of a parent or caretaker to provide for a child’s basic needs. Examples include food, clothing, shelter, medical care, education, or supervision.
- Abandonment: Leaving a child alone for extended periods of time without adequate supervision or parental care.
- Endangering a child: Engaging in any activity that creates an unreasonable risk of harm to a child’s physical or emotional health or development.
If you were accused of child abuse or neglect in Texas, consult an experienced Collin County domestic violence defense lawyer. A lawyer can help you understand your rights and defend you against child abuse or neglect charges.
Penalties for Child Abuse
The punishment for child abuse in Texas depends on the charges. For example, reckless actions that cause bodily injury to a child could result in a state jail felony sentence of up to two years and a fine of up to $10,000. An intentional assault against a child can result in a third-degree felony, with a potential sentence of up to ten years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. For second-degree felonies, such as recklessly causing serious bodily or mental injury to a child, the possible sentence includes jail time of up to 20 years and a fine of up to $10,000. Lastly, first-degree felonies, such as intentionally causing serious bodily or mental injury to a child, carry a potential punishment of 99 years or life in prison and up to $10,000.
Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse
Under Texas law, anyone with “cause to believe” that a child has been abused or neglected must immediately report it to law enforcement or the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services. The law applies to any professional working with children, including teachers, doctors, nurses, counselors, and even clergy members. Failure to report suspected abuse or neglect can result in criminal charges.
Any person with knowledge of possible child abuse or neglect needs to take swift action to protect the child and potentially prevent further harm. If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected, contact your local law enforcement agency or the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services as soon as possible.
Defenses for Texas Child Abuse Charges
If you were accused of child abuse in Texas, a variety of legal defenses could be available to you. The type of defense available will depend on the specific circumstances of each case and the individual facts involved. Common defenses to child abuse charges include:
- False accusations
- Lack of evidence
- Accidental injury
- Misunderstanding of the facts
Depending on the circumstances, a defendant may be able to argue that they acted in good faith. They did not cause the alleged injury, or that the incident was simply an accident. In some cases, a defendant can argue that they did not know the victim was a minor. They may also be able to argue that they were unaware of any abuse or neglect.
How a Texas Child Abuse Defense Lawyer Can Help
If you are facing a child abuse charge in Texas, consult with an experienced domestic violence defense lawyer as soon as possible. A skilled attorney from Rosenthal Kalabus & Therrian will review all the details of your case, provide sound legal advice, and develop an effective defense strategy on your behalf. Your attorney knows the ins and outs of the complex legal system. They can negotiate with prosecutors for the best possible resolution of your case.
A good child abuse defense lawyer will assess the strength of the prosecution’s evidence against you. They will evaluate possible strategies for defending your rights. Depending on the nature of the charges, your lawyer may attempt to reduce or dismiss the charges against you. They may also negotiate a plea bargain, or go to trial and fight for an acquittal. In any case, your lawyer will work hard to protect your rights and freedom.
Speak with a Collin County Child Abuse Defense Lawyer
If you were charged with a child abuse-related crime in Texas, you need an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney. At Rosenthal Kalabus & Therrian, our attorneys have the experience and resources necessary to defend your rights and freedom aggressively. We understand how devastating these charges can be and will work tirelessly to defend you.
We understand the complexities of these cases and will tirelessly advocate on your behalf. To learn more about how we can help you, call (972) 369-0577 or contact us online to schedule a free legal consultation with one of our knowledgeable Texas child abuse defense attorneys.